Flowers and lemonade

I’m now more than meets the eye

Because of you.

Because of us, aw , because of the us that was

Sunrise looks different.

There’s more to a rising sun that just romance.

Dusk too.

There’s now more to night, than endless thoughts.

Sometimes I think,

I might have loved you more than I let on

Maybe you weren’t ready for it

And who would I be, to pour myself right into hands that couldn’t hold me

( Sigh) – of yesteryear

We see life differently

And more especially now,

I’m sorry.

I loved you enough to know that,

Even if I said you had no flaws, I didn’t mean it.

I’m looking away now

I’m looking for her; looking for you…..

In someone else.

She won’t be perfect, I know

You never were anyway.

What’s good about it though;

I’ll make *flowers* out of her flaws

She’ll mean a lot to me, but,

I won’t let her mean everything,

I’ve made that mistake before.

You see, I’m no superhero,

It’s that I know.

I might never be all she would want me to.

Maybe she’ll be good enough

To make *lemonades* off my shortcomings.

Hopefully we’ll make

What ‘us’ couldn’t be; 

*Flowers*, *lemonade*..

15 thoughts on “Flowers and lemonade

  1. You are just awesome. You write very good poems. I really don’t think i can reach that level, just to be frank with myself. Keep up bro πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice…..I like the line ‘I’ll make *flowers* out of her flaws ‘ ……….
    just try to edit your work preferably a someone else to do it ….keep up msee keep up looking forward to the next one

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

