I know ,yes , I do…..

I know why the caged bird sings

I understand the gloom hidden in her high notes

I know the sweetness of her melodies and the bitterness they depict

the uncontrollable wails that only inner ears hear in her song

the fatigue of her wing’s dances

and the pain of the plucking feathers

I know that the caged bird is denied his freedom

her freedom to traverse the the universes airspace

her freedom to taste of the sweetest of nectars

her freedom to be a beautiful creature of the air

The caged bird sings for sorrow

 

I know why the caged bird sings

I understand the happiness in her high notes

I know the bliss of her melodies and the contentedness they depict

The sweet tone that only inner ears hear in hi song

The delight of her wing’s dances

and the pleasure of the plucking feathers

I know that the caged bird has been granted freedom

the freedom to traverse musical notations in their numbers

the freedom to sing some good music at morning light

her freedom to be a beautiful creature to the ear

The caged bird sings for joy.

 

today I feel inspired by Maya Angelou.

 

Leave a Reply

